Not Bad for a Thursday Night Dinner 3

Let me explain why Thursday has become my favorite dinner night. This semester I have three classes, Monday through Wednesday. So basically that means, I’m up at 7:00 AM off to work, class starts at 6:00 PM so most nights, it’s straight to class fro work.

Thursday is awesome. I get to make some good food and drink some good wine.  It’s a fun way for me to unwind and relax.

So here’s this week’s installment.

Smoked Pork Chops with Pear Compote

Since I’ve started blogging I’ve been following a bunch of winos and foodies and they have some killer recipes and wine pairing ideas.  So, I did skip a killer recipe I found today  (look for that one next week, thanks Natalie http://www.nataliemaclean.com/recipes/view/chicken-breast-stuffed-with-chevre-pancetta-and-fresh-herbs/22).  Instead I though up my own dinner plan.

Here we go.

Pear Compote:

2 Pears (Firm, not overripe, shouldn’t matter what kind)
Vanilla (a couple dashes)
Sugar (about 2 Tablespoons)
2 Cloves
dash of nutmeg
2 dashes Cinnamon
1/4-1/3 cup of Gewurtzraminer
Juice from 1 lemon

Peal the pear, cut out the seeds and core bits, chop into 1/2 inch cubes and put in saucepan.  Put the rest of the ingredients in and cook over medium heat.  Once it starts to boil reduce heat and simmer until fruit is very tender.   Remove from heat.

Pork chops.  I got some fresh bone-in chops from Oliver’s Market.  I seasoned my chops with some fresh cracked black pepper, a dash of kosher salt, and some paprika.  Fire up some coals for the Weber grill and once they’re ready, place the coals to one side so you can do some indirect heat cooking.

Place the chops directly over the hot coals, sear the chops on both sides, approximately 3 minutes per side, then move chops to the other side of the grill for indirect cooking.  Close down the vents on the grill a bit to reduce the heat.

I used some Mesquite wood chips to add some smoke flavor to these chops.  Prepare the wood chips by soaking in warm water (I had started soaking my chips first thing this morning for better smoking)  Place the wet wood chips on the hot coals and put the cover back on the grill, chops should be ready in about 15 minutes from now.

I decided to pair my chops with some wild rice and some fresh green beans.

Not Bad for a Thursday Night Dinner 3

The pairing of Gewurztraminer with the smoked chops worked out pretty well.  The pear compote and chops had a sweet and tart flavor which taste great with the ripe apple and honeysuckle flavors of the wine.  The wild rice mix was great and the green beans were perfect.  Yet another great Thursday Night dinner!

Leave a Reply

