2006 Ty Caton – Sonoma Valley – Caton Vineyard Malbec

I’m trying really hard to do these wines their due justice, but I fear either my palate or lack of descriptive ability is hindering them…  Nonetheless, here I go again.

I was able to sneak this open before the wife said anything.  Malbec is, or at least historically, has been her favorite varietal.  Ever since she visited Chile with her wine business program in college she’s loved it, just ask her sometime.

Anyhow, I digress.

2006 Ty Caton, Sonoma Valley - Caton Vineyards Malbec

After a few swirls and warming it up in my palm, I can detect some smoked meat sneaking through the blueberry fruit.  There’s a touch of earth, almost like mushroom.  The wine tastes good with decent tannins, not that I would expect “enamel stripping” tannins (thanks Vince, that’s great).  There is a hint of band-aid in this which deters a tad, and I think that the finish is a little weak.  The wine is labeled as 14.3% alcohol but it verges on the edge of hot.

I am still enjoying this wine and give it an 82, or a B/B-.

6 thoughts on “2006 Ty Caton – Sonoma Valley – Caton Vineyard Malbec

  1. I saw what you were opening! I do enjoy Malbecs. It reminds me of a great two weeks in Chile; great wine, good food and fantastic company. Even better that it counted for a class in college! My professional opinion…this wines pretty good!

  2. I love Malbec too! They can be pretty hit or miss though, depending on style and…I don’t know, maybe quality control. I was hoping to get some Argentinian grapes delivered this spring to make some but it didn’t happen. A suggestion: Include retail prices with your reviews?

  3. Vince, great Idea. I have no idea what this one retails for, it was a gift, so the price was right! My guess is that this would retail about $20-25 at the winery.

    BTW, thanks for the comments. Tell your friends to slam me!

    Cheers.

    Honey, Thursday Night will be BBQ’d Meatloaf. Yeah baby!

  4. I like the review. My biggest advice to anyone (including myself) is to discover your own style and format, and then stick with it, refining it along the way. I look at great reviewers like 1WineDude or Vinotology or VineGeek and I’ve learned what to expect when I go to their sites. They’ve developed a signature format that is identified with them.

    P.S. thanks for having me on your blog roll.

    Josh @nectarwine on twitter

  5. I’m with your wife on Malbec, although I didn’t have the benefit of a trip to South America to get me there. 🙂 I generally find Malbec to be an enjoyable variety.

    I think you did a great job with the review. Everyone’s palate is different, so all you can really do is give your impressions, both good and bad, and then any facts that you have on the wine. It’s a challenge sometimes, but you just do the best you can to give an accurate picture of the wine. I think you did a good job here.

    I agree with Vince that the price is good to include in the review when you can. If I didn’t buy the bottle, I usually just Google it and give a range for what it seems to be going for.

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

