Not Bad for a Thursday Night Dinner 6

I have had a hankering for a good steak, nah, scratch that, a great steak.  And what steak is better than Fillet Mignon?  Okay, on occasion Flat Irons are good, or Skirt, yeah, some fajitas… ooh.  I digress.  Let’s get back to the task at hand.

So I’ve been thinking about this since after last week’s dinner, or at least since Saturday, last week’s meatloaf was killer (so were leftovers).  Anyhow, half of the challenge of these is finding the proper motivation.  This week I came across a new (new to me) blogger’s site and she had a great sounding recipe for “Pencil-Thin-Asparagus” (thanks Tammy).  I commented on her blog that I would definitely have to come up with a good main course to go along with this, that was pretty easy since I was already thinking steak, and steak and asparagus go together like, well like Forest Gump would say he and Jenny go together “Like Peas and Carrots” (BTW, not a huge fan of peas so it never made too much sense to me, but it sounds good!).  Additionally I wanted a starch that I hadn’t done before and I’ve heard on cooking shows and other foodie sites of “truffled this” or “truffled that” and of course mashed potatoes can be truffled, so I decided that would be my starch dish.

We all know, now, that the best (IMHO) wine to go with steak is a great big Cab, I just happened to have the perfect match for that steak; a 2001 Gallo of Sonoma, Barrelli Creek, Single Vineyard, Alexander Valley Cabernet Sauvignon.

This dinner was really fairly simple to prepare as opposed to some of the other recipes I’ve tried out.  However, the grocery bill for this one definitely came up bigger than the rest.  This was due to the lack of certain spendy ingredients/spices that I hadn’t previously bought.

As usual a trip to Oliver’s Market Cotati.  Produce section first.  I needed about 1 1/2 lbs of red potatoes and some asparagus.  I already had some garlic and thyme which were the only other produce items used.  I visited the butcher and picked up some nice 1 1/2 thick fillets about 1/2 lb each.  So the expensive stuff was the truffle oil, some sea salt, and grape seed oil.

Steak prep:

Pat steaks dry with paper towel
fresh cracked black pepper and a dash of kosher salt on both sides

2 Great Steaks

Sear steaks on gas grill high to medium-high heat on both sides (approx 3 min per side), reduce heat to about 275-300 F and move steaks to top rack for roasting (about 15-20 min)

Potatoes

1 1/2 lb of Red Potatoes
4 Tablespoons Butter
1 Teaspoon Fresh Cracked Black Pepper
3/4 Cup Whole Milk
1 clove of garlic (finely chopped)
2 Tablespoons Truffle Oil

Wash potatoes and dice into about 2 inch cubes, place into pot and boil until tender (about 20 min)

Diced Red Potatoes

Strain potatoes in colander and return to cooking pot over low heat.  I just put them back on the same burner they cooked on (electric stove blues).  This will cook off most of the remaining water.

Add garlic, butter, milk, pepper and mash with potato smasher until creamy smooth, even out in pan.  Drizzle oil over potatoes and let sit for a minute or two to allow oil to infuse.  Thoroughly stir in oil and serve.

Asparagus:  (copied from http://www.speckleofdirt.com)

Properly Wunxed!

1) Trim off last 2 inches
2) Douse with olive oil (or try Hazlenut or Grapeseed)  I used Grapeseed oil
3) Sprinkle Sea Salt
4) Sprinkle Lemon Pepper
5) Sprinkle Cracked Pepper
6) Wunx it up  (Asked Tammy about this, she says her Grandmother used to say this and it means mix thoroughly, I wunxed it up good!)
7) Put in 450-degree oven for 6 1/2 minutes (for a slightly crunchy, but non mushy texture)  Your oven may take longer, I ended up going closer to 10 minutes
8) Sprinkle microplaned Paremesan Cheese over all (the microplane makes the cheese delicate and curly…beautiful)  I friggin forgot the cheese!  What the hell was I thinking, must have been distracted by that first bottle of vino, it was corked — (see review)

I read some interesting blogs/articles on garnishing and plating this week so I tried to spruce it up a tad with the plating.  I think it looks pretty good!

Not Bad

The wine paired very well with the steak and potatoes, the lemon pepper on the asparagus was super yummy and gave just a hint of zest to the dish.  Total cook time, including prep, was probably under an hour.

Fillets are always a treat, especially on Thursday.  See you guys next week for another “Not Bad for a Thursday Night.”

If you haven’t already,become a fan of my Facebook Page , and if you’re on Twitter, follow me there!

Cheers,

Brian

4 thoughts on “Not Bad for a Thursday Night Dinner 6

  1. Totally random thought, but growing up in Oregon we used the word ‘spendy’ all the time. When I moved to L.A. I said it and people looked at me like I was crazy. They had never heard the word before. Don’t know why I thought of that except that obviously it is used in Nor Cal as well. Anyway, I gotta come to your place on Thursday nights looks great.

  2. Looks amazing! Funny we had this dish on Monday, exept for I prepared mine stovetop using a large saute pan and then threw the steaks in the oven at 450 to finish roasting! I’ll have to try the bbq though.

    off to make a 2-egg frittata…I’m starving and moreso after reading this!

Leave a Reply

